The activities of KYABGÖN PHAKCHOK RINPOCHE
怙主帕秋仁波切之 佛行事業

傳承轉世

關於仁波切的轉世

關於來自東藏康區類烏齊寺的金剛持明–帕秋達隆瑪塘之轉世故事如下。眾生之所依、三界之怙主,帕秋仁波切是諸佛密意、光明法教、秘密主,金剛手菩薩之化身,同時也是佛陀聖弟子阿難陀尊者、蓮花生大師之二十五弟子喇榮帕吉多杰(Lhalung Palgyi Dorje)與大成就者惹惹瓊多杰札巴(Rechung Dorje Drakpa)的化身。

第一世帕秋仁波切


第一世帕秋仁波切以度化眾生之各種需要吉祥地化現於類烏齊寺中之第十三任法座持有者,全名扎西旺嘉昂旺達巴當秋彭措(Tashi Wangyal Ngawang Drakpa Damcho Puntsok)。他於藏曆第十二繞迥之地龍年(西元1688年),出生於藏地歷史悠久六大家族之一達隆嘎孜家族。他出生時即能說出六字真言,並憶起許多生世以前的故事; 日夜均有眾多空行母與護法圍繞其身旁守護。仁波切一生嚴守獨自閉關多年進行本尊依法與成就法,最終修得親見彌勒佛之佛果。已證得殊勝悉地的仁波切乃是一位於慈悲、智慧與力量均臻至無上功德的偉大成就者。

第一世帕秋仁波切由第七世達賴喇嘛–嘉華格桑嘉措授予特别榮譽,並受雍正皇帝以金冊金印御封為諾門罕稱號,賜予勝璽,舆,華蓋,与該金冊以藏、漢、蒙三種文字記載。

仁波切在類烏齊主寺的經堂裡塑立了十六阿羅漢佛像、蓮師八變像,以及其他種種代表佛陀身語意的吉祥物。在以其廣大的神通力下成就對眾生、法教無盡利益後,仁波切於三十六歲進入光明涅槃。



第二世帕秋仁波切


第二世帕秋仁波切,扎西達巴嘉稱(Tashi Drakpa Gyaltsen)出生於倫波氏裡的洛達修美盧彭佑(Lho Dasho Meru Ponyo)家族,並轉世為類烏齊寺的第十五任法座持有者。在被確認為前世帕秋仁波切之轉世靈童後,仁波切於五歲時被帶到揚貢,在那裡他對於屬於自己前世的物品皆能一一指認。並且在進入到主寺的大殿時,仁波切對於前世所安立的佛像也能立即指認,並開口說出「這些是我所塑立的!」對於閱讀和寫作等能力,仁波切均能學習無礙;並在極早的時候,仁波切就能觀視自身本尊並親見諸佛菩薩、空行母與護法。

仁波切從瑪塘的轉世宜欣聽列確竹(Yizhin Trinley Chokdrub)杰仲仁欽喜饒(Jedrung Rinchen Sherab)處受戒為僧。他也從这兩位大師處習得傳承的能熟灌頂法教與甚深解脫法。

仁波切在其師杰仲仁波切圓寂後接任揚貢寺的法座持有者,並對寺內僧團建立了嚴格的戒律。他在類烏齊主寺內監工了新的彌勒佛佛像、八大菩薩像、蓮師與其他菩薩的佛像的製造工程。仁波切以佛語之化身,為佛陀教法的總集–甘珠爾做了重新演繹,並修復了僧團的寮房。

這一世的帕秋仁波切受到藏漢兩地政要和有力人士的高度尊重,但他卻無有偏見、一視同仁地關心每位眾生,並想辦法以佛法幫助他們。仁波切透過他不竭的四種事業廣揚佛法的精神與實踐,幫助引導僧俗大眾樹立實踐十善行之的喜悅。眾所公認,第二世帕秋仁波切為類烏齊寺所建立出的嚴格紀律與修道精神,直到帕秋吉天旺秋(Phakchok Jigten Wangchuk)都無人能出其右。

仁波切也為藏地眾多寺院提供資助與協助,範圍廣及前藏、後藏與康區。對於那些由直貢、達隆、岡倉、竹巴傳承所認證的寺院法台上師,仁波切均付予崇敬與供養,對於貧窮人家的幫助,更是不遺餘力。仁波切的一生展現了良善的風範,他在六十二歲時以各種瑞相進入涅槃。



第三世帕秋仁波切


第三世帕秋仁波切為瓊英倫祝(Choying Lhundrub),類烏齊寺的第十七任法座持有者。仁波切於藏曆第十三繞迥出生在貝千噶祝(Bechen Khardru)家族裡,經由拉薩官方卜卦認證為前世帕秋仁波切轉世。透過喚醒前世修行印記,僅依一次口頭教授,仁波切就能直接了悟法教之一切內外含意並成為一位偉大的學者。仁波切是一位恪遵戒律的高僧,其證悟心續完全被利生、慈悲與菩提心所調服,即能任運無礙地展現其事業力。仁波切對於金剛乘的生起與圓滿次第禪定修持亦了然於心、確實掌握心要,進而成為一位偉大的成就者,其證悟身語意之無量功德即使是一小部分都難以衡量。對普羅大眾而言,聖賢的證悟經驗是如此難以體會,若以一般字句描述就是仁波切已證得親見本尊面容不可思議之淨觀力。

仁波切在六十歲的時前往中藏拉薩覲見達賴喇嘛,向尊者頂禮獻供,並在達隆雅塘停留約三個月的時間。在那段時間,他從杰塘巴(Je Tangpa)處領受了大量的教法,如桑杰翁(Sangye Wön),仁炯玾札(Rinchung Gyatsa)儀軌的完整口傳與總集教導,以及吉祥護法的精要灌頂與闡述。

從很年輕的時候起,仁波切就擅長給予大眾極佳的灌頂與法教開示。此外,他在寺院裡建立了無數代表佛陀身語意的所依物,例如在寺院裡新建的覺沃佛雕像,即被視為與拉薩大昭寺裡的覺沃佛像無二無別。仁波切透過廣泛而無間斷地轉動法輪,令有幸領受法教的弟子們得以調服自心、修行成熟,最終能獲致解脫。

因此,他成為一位具備學識、真誠和崇高心識功德的偉大上師,藉由其功德他完成了弘法與利生的使命。仁波切於西元1829年藏曆地牛年將法体融入法界。




第四世帕秋仁波切


第四任帕秋仁波切為仁欽倫祝達巴昆謝尼瑪(Rinchen Lhundrub Drakpa Kunsel Nyima),類烏齊寺的第十九任法座持有者,於藏曆鐵馬年(西元1830年)出生在昌都的朗闊隆加宗(Rongko Longa Dzom)家族,經由官方占卜確認為帕秋仁波切轉世。仁波切於許多偉大上師座前習得關於經部、續部以及其他佛學典籍之學識,並從聖尊主滇培尼瑪(Tenpey Nyima)處領受達隆傳承古老教法–達隆四嚴藏(Taklung’s Four Jewels of Profound Dharma)之全部成熟和解脫法教與口傳,無有例外。仁波切並成為了傳承教主。

仁波切一生專修彌勒佛之依法與成就法,親見本尊,擁有不可思議的淨觀能力,因而成為一位偉大的班智達與成就者。仁波切塑立了許多佛陀身語意之所依,而其證悟事業如赋予灌頂與教授 使佛法廣泛弘揚廣傳。在達隆雅塘,仁波切將達隆噶舉的古老傳承法教,諸如能熟及解脫灌頂、口傳與如意寶的教示一一傳授予其全知的滇培尼瑪(Tenpey Nyima),瑪楚格列南嘉(Matrul Geleg Namgyal)之轉世祖古。

仁波切在拉薩獲賜諾門罕稱號,直到圓寂以前仁波切均致力於以出入世之道弘揚佛法與利益眾生。



第五世帕秋仁波切


第五世帕秋仁波切為昂旺昆噶南嘉(Ngawang Kunga Namgyal),類烏齊寺第二十一任法座持有者,於藏曆水牛年(西元1913年)出生於雪朵波嘎(Sedor Bongkar)家族。仁波切在陞座後便在許多導師和上師坐下學習如大海般深奧的顯密法教,尤其是雅塘的瑪楚格列南嘉(Matrul Geleg Namgyal)和在類烏齊的大成就者。在完成其學識訓練後仁波切不僅博学,他也對傳承法教成就真實了證力。

 憑藉其卓越的智慧、慈悲、力量與善巧的方便,仁波切使類烏齊地區的僧俗二眾均能領受極大的加持力並受益匪淺。

仁波切後來去到拉薩,在布達拉宮第十三世達賴喇嘛會面時被授予與前世相同的的稱位。在利益無數的眾生與弘揚佛法之後,仁波切進入涅槃。荼毗火化後,仁波切的顱骨完好存在,荼毗時輕煙繚繞,花雨驟降,種種瑞相被視為仁波切一生奇妙、歡喜與虔信的象徵。

第六世帕秋仁波切



第六世帕秋仁波切


第六世帕秋仁波切轉世為類烏齊寺第二十二任法座持有者昂旺吉美達巴圖滇南嘉(Ngawang Jigmey Drakpa Tubten Namgyal),出生於與前世同一個雪朵波嘎家族內,並在揚貢寺陞座。仁波切從百聖尊之主杰仲聽列蔣沛炯內(Jedrung Trinley Jampey Jungney)與許多其他大師處完成了經典和密續的休學次第。尤其,仁波切從其大師們獲得達隆傳承無與倫比的能熟灌頂法教與甚深解脫法之所有。仁波切花很長的時間閉關修習,並使其成就達眾上師之巔。

他能親見諸如瑪吉拉準等聖尊的面容,並受其加持護佑。即使他本身對於淨觀已能掌握無礙,但因體認上師之心意深不可測,他甚至連最絲微的法教都不曾對外透露。因菩提心已完全地在其心續之流開展,仁波切待人如此平等,無有親疏、高低之別,即便遭受無禮對待,也沒有絲毫氣餒;如天空一般,其寬大、廣闊,仁波切的佛行事業則是無與倫比。

特別是在藏曆水龍年(西元1952年),仁波切邀請了嘎陀的定津達巴(Tendzin Drakpa),又稱為貝瑪讓卓(Pema Rangdrol),一位擁有智慧、正直和高尚三重功德的大師,為達隆與竹巴噶舉開創一個新的高等佛學院。仁波切在阿覺(Achog)設立了一個新的禪修中心,並在類烏齊塑立了無數代表佛陀身語意的所依物,並修復了許多老舊房子等等,種種善行為類烏齊地區做了許多事情。最後,儅中國共產黨掌控了西藏地區而尊者的法教完全被淹沒之時,仁波切於1979年藏曆地羊年,在西藏昌都承受其拘禁者的極大磨難下,其色身融入法界 。



以上傳承轉世由類烏齊協會為了慶祝吉隆坡噶林寺(Ka-Nying Ling)十週年所發行之出版品所撰寫,並根據第四世慈克秋林仁波切的心願,由艾瑞克貝瑪坤桑(Erik Pema Kunsang)於2000年2月在噶寧謝竹寺翻譯,並由拉些洛紮哇翻譯與出版學會(Lhasey Lotsawa Translations&Publications)於2011年12月進行補充和編輯。

Previous Incarnations

Rechung Dorje DrakHere is an explanation of the vajra-holder Phakchok of Taklung Martang, the Riwoche Monastery in Dokham (East Tibet).The emanation basis of our unequalled place of refuge, protector of the beings of the three realms, Phakchok Rinpoche is the great secret of all the Buddhas, condenser of the teachings, Lord of Secrets, Vajrapani; the great disciple of the Teacher, the Arhat Ananda; the direct disciple of the great master, Guru Rinpoche, Lhalung Palgyi Dorje; and the mighty siddha, Rechung Dorje Drakpa.

 The First Phakchok Rinpoche

Riwoche Monastery, TibetHaving manifested an inconceivable display of magical emanations to influence beings in accordance with their needs, the first Phakchok incarnation was the thirteenth throne-holder at glorious Riwoche, whose full name was Tashi Wangyal Ngawang Drakpa Damcho Puntsok. He was born in the year of the Earth Dragon in the twelfth cycle (1688) into the Taklung Gazi family, one of the six original family clans of Tibet. He immediately spoke the six syllables of great compassion and recalled his former lives. He was accompanied night and day by many dakinis and dharma protectors. He engaged in approach and accomplishment for many years in solitary retreat and thus saw the face of the supreme deity Maitreya. Having actualised the siddhis, he was unrivalled in the excellent qualities of knowledge, compassion, and power.

The first Phakchok was bestowed special honors due to the kindness of Gyalwa Kalsang Gyatso, the Seventh Dalai Lama. The Emperor Yutrig conferred the Golden Credential upon him, and he was offered the Nomihan rank with the associated seal, palanquin, and parasol, as well as documents written in Tibetan, Chinese, and Mongolian.

In the scripture shrine room within the Grand Temple of Riwoche, he had statues of the sixteen arhats, Padmasambhava's eight manifestations, and many other sacred representations of Body, Speech, and Mind built and installed. After accomplishing an immense benefit for the teachings and beings through his mastery in miraculous powers and clairvoyance, at the age of thirty-six he passed into nirvana.

 The Second Phakchok Rinpoche

The second Phakchok incarnation was Tashi Drakpa Gyaltsen, the fifteenth throne-holder of Riwoche, born into the Lho Dasho Meru Ponyo family of the Lhugpo clan. Having been recognized as the rebirth of the previous Phakchok, he was brought to Yang-gön at the age of five where he identified shrine objects belonging to his predecessor. Upon entering the great temple he recognised the statues and so forth that he had erected in his previous lifetime saying, “I erected these!” He learnt effortlessly to write, read and so forth. From his early years onwards he had visions of his yidam deity and saw directly many Buddhas, bodhisattvas, dakinis, and dharma protectors.

The ordination as a monk he received from Yizhin Trinley Chokdrub, the supreme Martang incarnation, and from Jedrung Rinchen Sherab. They also bestowed upon him the lineage of the ripening empowerments and liberating instructions of the profound Dharma.

After Jedrung Rinpoche passed on, he took the position of throne-holder of Yang-Gön and kept a very strict discipline for the monks at the monastery. In the Grand Temple he supervised the building of new statues of Maitreya, the Eight Close Bodhisattvas, Padmasambhava, and others. As representations of enlightened Speech, he provided a new set of the Kangyur, the collected words of the Buddha's true meaning. He also renovated the accommodations for monks.

This Phakchok Rinpoche was highly respected by the dignitaries and influential people of both Tibet and China, but without prejudice he cared for people of every standing and helped them in accordance with the Dharma. Through his inexhaustible fourfold activity to propagate the Dharma traditions of teaching and practice, he helped to establish everyone, both clergy and laity, in the happiness of pursuing the ten virtuous actions. In short, up until the time of Phakchok Jigten Wangchuk, it is renowned that there has been no other throne-holder of Riwoche who developed the monastery more and kept a stricter discipline than this sublime master.

Numerous monasteries of all traditions in both Ü, Tsang and Kham he provided with donations and assistance. To all their sublime masters, headed by Drigung, Taklung, Kamtsang, and Drukpa, he made offerings and paid respect to their shrine objects. He also gave alms to the poor and thus manifested a life of goodness. At the age of sixty-two he passed into nirvana accompanied by wondrous signs.

 The Third Phakchok Rinpoche

The third Phakchok incarnation was Choying Lhundrub, the seventeenth throne holder of Riwoche, born into the Bechen Khardru family during the thirteenth year cycle. In Lhasa he was approved by the official divination and the installed in the seat of his predecessor. Having awakened his past imprints of learning, he directly comprehended all of the outer and inner topics of knowledge merely by being told about them and thereby emerged as a great scholar. Having perfected discipline he was a supreme monk. His enlightened mind-stream was thoroughly tamed by altruism, loving kindness, compassion, and bodhichitta and he perfected the excellent actions and conduct of a liberating lifestyle. He was the supreme siddha who had obtained mastery over the samadhis of the Vajrayana’s development and completion stages. It is difficult to measure even a part of his excellent great qualities of enlightened body, speech, and mind, since they are an object of experience only of noble beings; ordinary beings are not able to fathom them. Yet to talk of them in merely ordinary terms, he had inconceivable mastery over pure visions, saw the face of the deity and so forth.

At the age of sixty, he went to central Tibet and in Lhasa having met His Holiness the Dalai Lama, made offerings, paid homage, and then stayed for about three months in Taklung Yartang during which time he received from Je Tangpa an enormous amount of teachings, such as the perfect and complete oral transmission of the collected teachings of Sangye Wön, the sadhana Rinchung Gyatsa, and the elaborate and condensed empowerments of the Glorious Protector.

From a young age, he was remarkable at bestowing empowerments and giving dharma teachings. Moreover, he erected inconceivable amounts of supports for enlightened body, speech, and mind, such as a new Jokhang statue in the monastery, which became indivisible with the real Jowo in the temple Lhasa Trulnang. By turning the wheel of dharma widely and uninterruptedly, fortunate disciples, those to be tamed, were ripened and liberated.

Thus he became a great master endowed with the sublime qualities of learnedness, integrity, and noble-mindedness through which he accomplished the welfare of the teachings and beings. In the year of the Earth Ox, 1829, he dissolved his manifestation of the form body.

 The Fourth Phakchok Rinpoche

The fourth Phakchok incarnation was Rinchen Lhundrub Drakpa Kunsel Nyima, the nineteenth throne-holder of Riwoche, born into the Rongko Longa Dzom family in Chamdo in the year of the Iron Horse (1830). Having been opproved by the official divination, he was installed in the seat of his predecessor. From many sublime masters, he received teachings on Sutra, Mantra, and the topics of knowledge and perfected study and learning. From Tenpey Nyima, Lord of the Buddha Families, he received all the ripening and liberating root texts and oral instructions of the long-standing tradition of glorious Taklung’s Four Jewels of Profound Dharma without exception and became lord of the teachings.

He engaged in the approach and accomplishment of the supreme deity Maitreya, saw the face of the deity, had inconceivable pure visions. Thus he became a great pandita and accomplished master. He erected supports for enlightened body, speech, and mind and his enlightened activity of bestowing empowerments and teaching the dharma spread far and wide. In Taklung Yartang, he bestowed the Meaning Lineage of the long-standing tradition of Taklung Kagyu, the ripening and liberating empowerments, transmissions, and instructions of the Wish-fulfilling Jewel in their entirety to the reincarnation of the omniscient Tenpey Nyima and Matrul Geleg Namgyal.

In Lhasa, he received the rank of a Nomihan after which he worked immensely for the benefit of the Buddhadharma and sentient beings in both spiritual and secular ways until his passing.

 The Fifth Phakchok Rinpoche

The fifth Phakchok incarnation was Ngawang Kunga Namgyal, the twenty-first throne-holder of Riwoche, born into the Sedor Bongkar family in the year of the Water Ox (1913). After being installed on the golden throne of his predecessor, he studied with numerous tutors and spiritual teachers the ocean-like Dharma topics of Sutra and Tantra. In particular, he received teachings from Matrul Geleg Namgyal of Yartang and the great accomplished beings of Riwoche. On completing his studies and training he became both learned and accomplished and also brought forth the realization of the true transmission.

By means of his excellent qualities of knowledge, compassion, and power and amazing skill and expertise greatly benefitted both the dharmic and worldly affairs of Riwoche.

He then went to Lhasa where in an audience with the thirteenth Dalai Lama at the Potala Palace he was bestowed the official rank of his predecessor. Having benefited vastly the teachings and beings through his learned and accomplished qualities, he passed into nirvana. After the cremation, his whole skull remained and wherever the smoke rising from the funeral pyre went ringsel and other blessings rained down establishing him as an object of wonder, joy, and faith.

 The Sixth Phakchok Rinpoche

6th Kyabgon Phakchok RinpocheThe sixth Phakchok incarnation was Ngawang Jigmey Drakpa Tubten Namgyal, the twenty-second throne-holder of Riwoche, born into the same Sedor Bongkar family, and then placed on the Dharma throne at Yang-gön Monastery. From Jedrung Trinley Jampey Jungney, the lord of a hundred buddha families, and from many other tutors and spiritual masters, he completed the general studies of the graded path of Sutra and Tantra. In particular, he received in entirety the scriptures and teachings for the ripening empowerments and liberating instructions of the incomparable Taklung tradition. He spent long periods of time in retreat and became a crest-ornament among all learned and accomplished masters.

He saw the face of great beings such as Machig Labdron and was taken under their care. Even though he had command over inconceivable pure visions, because the mind of the master was so fathomlessly profound he did not teach even the slightest aspect of secret topics. Since bodhicitta had been fully born in his mind-stream, he treated everyone equally whether they were friends of strangers, high or low, and even when shown ingratitude he was not the slightest bit discouraged, but like the sky, his vast and expansive enlightened activities were unrivalled.

Riwoche Monastery, TibetIn particular, in the Year of the Water Dragon, 1952, he invited Tendzin Drakpa of Katok, also known as Pema Rangdrol, a master possessing the threefold qualities of being learned, upright and noble, to establish a new Shedra (Centre of Higher Buddhist Studies) for the Taklung and Drukpa Kagyu traditions. In Achog, he established a new practice centre. He also erected innumerable sacred representations of enlightened body, speech, and mind, and repaired old houses and so forth. In this way, he accomplished a great deal for Riwoche. Finally, when by the Communists’ conquest the district of Tibet and the Victorious One’s completely perfect teachings were obliterated, in Chamdo in a state of great hardship caused by his detainees in the year of the Earth Sheep, 1979, his form body departed to nirvana.

 

This was written by The Riwoche Society for the purpose of adorning a publication celebrating the tenth anniversary of Ka-Nying Ling in Kuala Lumpur, and according to the wish of H. E. the Fourth Tsikey Chokgyur Lingpa, this was translated by Erik Pema Kunsang, at Ka-Nying Shedrub Ling Monastery, February, 2000. It was supplemented and edited by Lhasey Lotsawa Translations & Publications in December 2011.